Beetson named in BRL’s best of 100 years

Redcliffe legend Arthur Beetson has deservedly taken his place in the Brisbane Rugby League team of the century named last week.

The Queensland Rugby League announced the team on Friday as the BRL celebrates its 100th anniversary this year.

Beetson began his stellar career as a Dolphin, playing in the club’s inaugural BRL premiership of 1965 before moving to Sydney and becoming a decorated international.

He returned to Redcliffe in 1981 to finish his career.

He took his place in the BRL team alongside fellow Immortals Wally Lewis and Mal Meninga, and pioneer players Tom Gorman and Norm Pope.

Lewis was named captain of the team that was chosen by the QRL’s History Committee.

Beetson was also named in the People’s Choice BRL Team of the Century, as voted by the fans.

Halfback Mark Murray, who also spent time with Redcliffe, was named at halfback in the People’s Choice team.

The anniversary team was chosen from criteria that included players must have played a minimum of three seasons in the BRL; and played prior to the 1988 inclusion of the Broncos in the NSW Rugby League competition.

BRL Team of the Century

  1. Norm Pope – Fortitude Valley
  2. Lionel Morgan – Wynnum Manly
  3. Tom Gorman – Brothers
  4. Mal Meninga – Souths
  5. Cecil Aynsley – Wests
  6. Wally Lewis – Fortitude Valley, Wynnum Manly
  7. Barry Muir – Wests
  8. Brian Davies – Brothers
  9. John Lang – Easts
  10. Duncan Hall – Fortitude Valley, Wests
  11. Arthur Beetson – Redcliffe
  12. Peter Gallagher – Brothers
  13. Harold ‘Mick’ Crocker – Souths
  14. John Gleeson – Brothers, Wynnum Manly
  15. Des Morris – Easts, Wynnum Manly
  16. Gene Miles – Wynnum Manly
  17. Ignatius ‘Bill’ Tyquin – Souths
  18. Greg Veivers – Souths

Coach: Bob Bax – Brothers, Norths

Referee: Eddie Ward

Administrator: Peter Scott Senior