QRL confirms Intrust Super Cup grand final venue

QRL Media ReleaseTimestamp

Redcliffe’s refurbished Dolphin Stadium will host this year’s Intrust Super Cup grand final, the Queensland Rugby League confirmed today.

QRL Chief Operating Officer Rohan Sawyer said the stadium’s modern facilities, combined with the “community feel” of the Moreton Bay Region, made it the ideal place to host the September 29 blockbuster.

“Dolphin Stadium is a boutique rugby league ground with a world-class playing surface and facilities,” Sawyer said.

“We believe it is perfectly suited to hosting the Intrust Super Cup and Hastings Deering Colts premiership deciders.”

Dolphin Stadium has two grandstands that can comfortably seat 8000 spectators, as well as the grassed northern hill and corporate facilities.

“The most appealing aspect for us is the prospect of our participants and fans soaking up the atmosphere from inside a purpose-built rugby league stadium with the full-house sign up,” Sawyer said.

“Such a scenario will only enhance our television product as well. Our team is really looking forward to working with Redcliffe and the local community to put on a great day for everyone involved in our statewide competitions.”

This year’s grand final will be the first premiership decider played away from Suncorp Stadium in six years; and will be the fourth time Redcliffe has hosted the big day.

Ipswich (2013) and the Sunshine Coast (2009) have previously staged Cup finals as well.

Sawyer confirmed the QRL had committed to a three-year term to play the grand final at Dolphin Stadium.

“We undertook an extensive ‘expression of interest’ process; and our clubs were all strongly in favour of the move,” he said.

“We’re extremely grateful to the support we have received from Suncorp Stadium over many years. It’s been an honour for the players on grand final day to play at the best rugby league venue in Australia; and special thanks must go to Alan Graham and his team for this opportunity.

“It will always be the spiritual home of rugby league in Queensland, but for now the time is right to take our showpiece game to a venue that will offer a unique experience for participants and fans.”

Cup grand final results and venues – since 1996

1996: TOOWOOMBA 8 d Redcliffe 6 at Suncorp Stadium

1997: REDCLIFFE 18 d Easts 16 at Suncorp Stadium

1998: NORTHS 35 d Wests 16 at Suncorp Stadium

1999: BURLEIGH 12 d Redcliffe 10 at Suncorp Stadium

2000: REDCLIFFE 14 d Toowoomba 6 at Suncorp Stadium

2001: TOOWOOMBA 28 d Redcliffe 26 at Dolphin Oval

2002: REDCLIFFE 34 d Ipswich 10 at Dolphin Oval

2003: REDCLIFFE 31 d Burleigh 18 at Dolphin Oval

2004: BURLEIGH 22 d Easts 18 (Extra Time) at Suncorp Stadium

2005: NQ YOUNG GUNS 36 d Burleigh 6 at Suncorp Stadium

2006: REDCLIFFE 27 d Toowoomba 6 at Suncorp Stadium

2007: TWEED HEADS 28 d Redcliffe 18 at Suncorp Stadium

2008: SOUTHS LOGAN 24 d Ipswich 18 at North Ipswich Reserve

2009: SUNSHINE COAST 32 d Northern Pride 18 at Stockland Park

2010: NORTHERN PRIDE 30 d Norths Devils 20 at Suncorp Stadium

2011: WYNNUM MANLY 16 d Tweed Heads 10 at Suncorp Stadium

2012: WYNNUM MANLY 20 def Redcliffe 10 at Suncorp Stadium

2013: MACKAY 27 def Easts 20 at North Ipswich Reserve

2014: NORTHERN PRIDE 36 def Easts 4 at Suncorp Stadium

2015: IPSWICH 32 def Townsville 20 at Suncorp Stadium

2016: BURLEIGH 26 def Redcliffe 16 at Suncorp Stadium

2017: PNG 12 def Sunshine Coast 10 at Suncorp Stadium

2018: REDCLIFFE 36 def Easts 22 at Suncorp Stadium