Village Motors Dolphins Intrust Super Cup Season Launch

The Village Motors Dolphins Intrust Super Cup Season was officially launched on Friday with the announcement that the Club has raised a staggering $17,000 for Charity Partner Smart Pups before the season has even started.

General Manager of Football Grant Cleal said the Club set a goal to hand over an assistance dog to a child with special needs at the annual awards night at the end of year.

“These dogs cost $30,000 and take 18 months to train. We are blown away by where we are already. Thanks to everyone who attended our sportsman’s lunch and the NRL trial at Dolphin Stadium, we are already half way to our fundraising target.”

The Attorney-General Yvette D’Ath and Member for Redcliffe, commenced proceedings, acknowledging how the Dolphins bring the community together and wishing the team success for the 2020 season.

President Bob Jones officially opened the season and acknowledged the support of all levels of government in delivering the Dolphin Stadium project, making special mention to Moreton Bay Regional Councillors in attendance Acting Mayor Mike Charlton, Councillor Peter Flannery and retiring Councillor Koliana Winchester.

“Without the ongoing support of Council, the State and Federal Governments, Dolphin Stadium would not have been possible. In just a few months we will have a 10,000 seat stadium, the only one in south-east Queensland with this kind of seated capacity, and it’s right here in the Moreton Bay Region,” he said.

A squad of 32 players was announced with each player receiving their jersey from  Major Sponsor Marlene Newcombe from Village Motors.

Coach Adam Mogg went on to say,

“The team is statistically fitter and stronger than they were at this point last year.  The new players we have brought into the Club have been really well accepted by the staff and other players, they have all worked hard during a very tough pre season period. Ben Shea, Marmin Barba and Billy McConnachie add allot of experience to the squad while younger players Jarrett Boland and Josh Gatt have been very impressive during the trials. It will take an entire squad to have a successful season”

Cameron Cullen was named as Captain for the 2020 season.

The full squad list announced at the launch included:

  • Bessie Aufaga – To’Omaga
  • Marmi Barba
  • Joshua Beehag
  • Jarrett Boland
  • Taylor Brown
  • Tyson Cleal
  • Xavier Coates
  • Cameron Cullen (c)
  • Braden Dee
  • Asipeli Fine
  • Kyle Foxwell
  • Trai Fuller
  • Tyson Gamble
  • Joshua Gatt
  • Jordan Grant
  • Jeremy Hawkins
  • Jamil Hopoate
  • Rhys Kennedy
  • Ben King
  • Billy McConnachie
  • Jayden Nikorima
  • William Partridge
  • Sheldon Pitama
  • Jon Reuben
  • Ben Shea
  • Harry Smith
  • Lachlan Timm
  • Jake Turpin
  • Justice Utatao
  • Nathan Watts
  • Justin Worley

The squad list can be found here

The Dolphins will be in action for round 1 against Sunshine Coast Falcons at Dolphin Stadium on Saturday 14th March. For game day information or to book your hospitality experience click here